Feeding the mind

I wanted to touch today on certain day to day activities I do the keep the mind occupied. Often, when one is anxious and/or depressed they get this overwhelming sensation where the mind just seems to race and cannot focus on one thought because too much is going on in the brain. Being so hard to focus makes me more agitated, emotional and I experience much more negative feelings throughout the day. This is something I feel happens to me quite often, I can tell almost straight away if I’ve woken up in one of those frames of mind. Sometimes it can last the whole day, and other times it may just be the morning, or it may even creep up on me during the day.

In this century I feel that our day to day lifestyles do not help this happening to the mind; Having a 9-6 job, resting for only 2 of the 7 days, and having always to wait, queue, or travel to comply with a London lifestyle. This puts a lot of pressure on the brain, because this lifestyle involves a lot of worry and stress. When I’m having a “unfocused mind” day it’s usually because I’m stressed about work, or about money, or even the worrying global events that are so easily known about via television and social media. Throughout history we have had to deal with stress, but when have we ever had global crisis pushed in front of our faces almost 24/7. No Viking or Victorian would scroll down their Facebook page to see a malnourished, starving Syrian fighting for survival, yet every spare minute of our current lives we scroll through Facebook to witness these things adding yet more worry to our already hectic lives.

There are many things today that increase anxiety in our society, but what do I do to try and prevent that? There’s no definite cure, because I still have incredibly thought racing days, today being one of them. It’s one of those months for me where I’ve ran out of money despite being paid last week, my hairs gone a ridiculous orange after me impulsively deciding to try and dye my hair blonde, and my skin is so bad in terms of my pores and spots. Men may not relate but this causes stress for a girl!

So what have I done? Food. Food is something that really does help calm the mind, through a happiness found in taste. We see so much in the media about what we shouldn’t eat to stay slim and healthy, but why not listen to your body? I feel when there’s a craving for something, there’s a reason for that. If you know you will fulfill that craving then you will get a subconscious happiness through satisfaction. This doesn’t mean binge on junk food (or though you cant beat one of those days!) it just means listening to your body. Take time out of your day to spend time making an effort in creating a dish for yourself. Balance your meal accordingly with all of your favorite things from  each of the food categories. Spending time cooking something your body wants will make your mind focus because you want if for yourself. What does focusing the mind do? Leaves less space for thought racing. Focus is the key to avoiding self destruction.

There’s a big satisfaction humans receive when they make a meal themselves that has a really enjoyable taste. Serotonin levels in our brain are increased through compliments, because they make us happy. I don’t know anyone in this world that doesn’t like receiving a compliment if they have made a good meal. This blog isn’t telling you to binge eat, it’s more about focusing on what the body wants rather than over thinking. Physical and mental well being come hand in hand, and one thing who will never lie to you is your body. When you listen to your body your body will respond. This morning my body fancied some pancakes, it’s fun and simple but it helped me focus for my morning, and brightened up my day. Comment if anyone has any food creations that brighten up their day.12593753_1145847762128354_2533906629711609825_o.jpg

Leave a Reply

